Famous for being a geriatric mummy!!

Well I’d say famous might be stretching it a bit, but we are in print today, giving the big shout out for older mummies all over the world.

As many of you will know, I got pregnant with Lily at 46, and gave birth to her when I was 47. She wasn’t planned at all, in any way, but having her has certainly enriched our lives in so many ways. She’s ruined it too in so many ways, but we’ll tell her about that when she’s older!! I’m joking of course, and Lily knows our sense of humour is a little, well, cruel at times. If it wasn’t for her having the same sense of humour, I would never be writing a blog about her.

So, today we are in print – centre pages no less (although I have yet to see it in print, as my corner shop has no papers left!). I have seen the story on line but I’m guessing there’s more to it in the actual newspaper.

The basis of our story is to highlight that having children in your 40’s is very much a normal thing. People won’t point to you in the street, guffawing at the absurdity of it all. No one bats an eye. I have yet to encounter anyone who has reacted negatively.

The Daily Mail wrote a story about the increase in women over 35 having abortions. The article can be read here http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2626742/Abortions-rise-35s-think-pregnant-Women-false-illusion-dont-need-contraception-age.html

To turn that around, and put a positive spin on becoming pregnant as an older woman, the Express wrote an article and used us as their example.

I won’t waffle on, as everything is said in the article on line (and maybe more in the paper itself – I’ll find out later)

If you want to have a read here is the link http://www.express.co.uk/life-style/life/477352/Late-motherhood-I-had-a-baby-at-47

For some, finding out you are pregnant in your 40’s might be very daunting and fraught with worry. I was labelled as a geriatric mother in my notes! Not something you want to see, but hey, I have a sense of humour and use this term freely when describing myself.

I am not by any stretch of the imagination, professionally qualified to give advice, but I certainly am willing to chat to anyone who is going through the same right now, or anyone who is thinking about trying, and wants to chat about my experience.

For those who have spent years trying to have children and are now in their 40’s, please take hope from my story. Blessings do happen.

Good luck to you all.

Josanne

 

12 thoughts on “Famous for being a geriatric mummy!!

  1. I’m 41 this year and my husband and I are trying for another one before I turn 42! We’re finding it very difficult though and I get disappointed every time it doesn’t happen. Part of me is thinking, maybe it’s just not meant to be?

  2. Sarah says:

    We had fertility problems for 8 years, I now have 2 precious children conceived naturally & born when I was 38 & 43, I am now 46. Yes I get tired but doesn’t any mum, I feel I appreciate being a mum much more than I would if I was younger as I have had a chance to do a lot of things I wanted to & don’t feel now I’m hankering after things like foreign holidays, new clothes etc I also think u have a lot more experience of life to pass on, more patience & having to keep up with young children keeps you feeling younger. I get really fed up of the media putting pressure on women to have babies younger, a lot of women aren’t in the situation to do so or don’t feel ready. Your article was a real inspiration. Sarah

    • Thank you Sarah for sharing, and congratulations on your two children.
      I said the same as you. Tiredness is a cross we have to bear, but age makes no difference to how you feel as a parent. Lily had dreadful sleep issues, which I’ve blogged about, and we were exhausted, as would any other parent be in the same situation.
      I agree with you, that having children when a wee bit older keeps you younger. It most definitely does! Well it makes me try just that little bit harder with the hair and make up just so I do not look like her doting granny 😉

  3. mummyofboygirltwins says:

    Congrats on your new fame! It is becoming more common and I certainly have friends who are post 40 with babies. I’ve had a successful IVF story (I’ve got twins) but I’d have kept trying until I got there no matter my age!!! 😉

    • I too have friends post 40 with little ones, and as you say it’s not rare.
      It’s such an emotive subject to be discussing, and no matter what your age, if there are issues around conceiving then I’m a great believer in talking about it. People take comfort and keep hope alive from other happy outcomes.
      I’m so happy that your IVF story has been successful
      x

Talk to me

